16. Accident

16. Accident

It was the second day of the school trip.

The activity planned for the day was hiking, and again the students were divided into groups.

They hiked up to the peak of one of the smaller mountains, which was surprisingly hard on their legs. The girls in other groups seemed to be having a hard time and took frequent breaks.

‘In my previous life, I would have been able to handle this level of exercise. However, in this body, it’s too difficult…..’

Lucinda wondered if it was due to the fact that she rode a carriage to school every day. The lack of physical strength made her depressed.

It seemed that not only did she need to improve her magic but also her physical strength—that is, if she wanted to go on an adventure in the future. Otherwise, in her current condition, she would need to rest every 10 steps.

As Lucinda sighed, Lyle looked at her face with concern.

“You look tired. Do you want to rest a little?”

“My legs feel kind of heavy, but I’m fine. Mia, are you okay?”

“My legs are killing me, too, but if I rest now, I won’t be able to continue moving. So I might as well keep going until we reach the top.”

Mia replied wearily, using a wooden stick she had picked up from somewhere as a walking stick and massaging her leg.

“True. I think it’s best to hike to the top and then take a rest.”

“Alright, then let’s do that. I’ll carry the luggage. Here, give me yours,” Lyle commanded.

“Yes, thank you.”

Lucinda handed over her luggage, including her water bottle, and started hiking again.

On the way, Lyle helped Lucinda find a walking stick as well and lent her a hand when there were some steps, which helped them reach the peak sooner.

Once they reached top, Lyle continued to take care of Lucinda and the others and told them to sit down and rest while he went to find the teacher who was supposed to be waiting for them at the top.

“Looks like we’re the first ones up.”

“I can finally rest~……”

Lucinda and Mia sat down on the bench and quenched their thirst with water from their water bottles.

“I’m so tired, but I do feel a little accomplished.”

“Well, the view is surprisingly nice, so it was worth the effort.”

“Yeah, it’s a nice view.”

Lucinda finally felt comfortable enough to pay attention to her surroundings. The sky was clear and blue, and in the distance, the snow-capped peak of Mount Spira glistened in the sunlight.

As Lucinda gazed at the beautiful natural scenery before her, she felt a sense of liberation and freshness sweep through her.

While still absorbed by the beautiful view, she heard a rustling sound right next to her. When Lucinda turned her head, she saw that Samuel was again chasing after insects and scrambling through the grass.

‘Oh, so Samuel was here, too.’

They were members of the same group, but she had completely forgotten about his presence.

‘Samuel seems to have a lot of energy, and surprisingly he’s very strong. He looks like he likes catching insects, so maybe he’s used to mountain trails?’

As Lucinda was thinking about this, she heard a sudden scream, “Whoa!” As she looked around, she realized Samuel’s figure had disappeared along with that scream.

“Sa-..Samuel?!”

Lucinda had a bad feeling and rushed over to find that Samuel had slipped while close to the edge of a steep cliff and was now dangling in the air with his hands desperately holding onto the roots of a tree.

He had saved himself from a terrible fall over the edge of the cliff, but it seemed that Samuel could not climb up on his own.

“Samuel, hold onto my hand!”

Lucinda dropped to her knees on the ground and reached out with one hand. She managed to grab Samuel’s hand but was unable to pull him up.

‘No,…….I can’t help him with this level of strength.’

Samuel looked at her with begging eyes. Just when Lucinda was beginning to panic about what to do, a large hand came out from behind her and pulled Samuel up in a flash.

“Lyle! You saved me!” Samuel shouted with relief as his feet felt solid ground again.

It was Lyle who lent a hand. It seemed that Mia had noticed the situation at some point and had gone to call him for help.

“No, I’m just glad I made it in time. Are you two hurt anywhere?”

“I’m fine! I just got a little scrape on my knee and wrist,” Lucinda responded. 

“I see. Let’s ask Mr. Ray if he can treat you. Samuel, did you get hurt anywhere?”

Lyle asked, but Samuel, his face now turning bright red, turned to glare at Lucinda.

“This all happened because you tried to help me!!!”

He shouted in a trembling voice and then ran off somewhere.

“What the hell was that……?”

The two left were puzzled. Then Mia showed up with Ray, who quickly treated Lucinda’s injuries.

Eventually, Samuel came back. However, he just stared at her silently, and they didn’t speak to each other again for the rest of the hike.

Note:

Sorry for not being able to upload for a while, been busy with school and everything. will try to upload more in the future!

Read more on Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/Nozomitl

If you enjoy my translation, you can support me through Support Nozomi

TL:Nozomi

ED:Ali

© http://www.betterdaystranslations.com, Inc. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started