15. At the ruins with Aaron

15. At the ruins with Aaron

It was after dinner on the first day. For some reason, the class was planning to have a test of courage.

It seemed that people would have to walk in pairs to the abandoned ruins nearby and return with the numbered cards placed in the innermost room of the ruins to pass the test.

Lucinda thought that this kind of activity was a summer tradition, but when she thought about it, she realized that it was too much of a coincidence that there happened to be an abandoned ruin nearby. It was probably one of those events that appears in the original storyline where you’re startled by a ghost or something and hug your target, raising your favorability level in the otome game.

‘If I’m paired with His Highness Aaron or Lyle, Mia might make a fuss, so I’d prefer to be paired with someone else.’

In spite of Lucinda’s hopes, when she drew out the lottery to determine her pairing it turned out to be Aaron, who she had hoped to avoid.

In addition, she was first in line to start, and, without any preparation, she was given a single lantern and immediately sent off to the ruins with the Crown Prince.

The sun had gone down and it was getting dark, so they headed for the ruins with only the light of the lantern to guide them.

The path was straight and easy to follow, and it seemed that they could reach the ruins in less than ten minutes.

The conversation along the way started off simple: “It’s pitch black, isn’t it?” and “Yes, it is.” After a while talking about cooking the soup in the afternoon, the conversation somehow died down.

It was a bit awkward to walk the road at night in silence. Lucinda tried to change the subject and asked Aaron about the exam.

“Your Highness, you took first place in the regular exam, didn’t you? I’m impressed by your excellent grades. I had to have my brother and Mr. Ray tutor me, and I barely got in fifteenth place.”

“Fifteenth place is a very impressive achievement. I’m the future leader of my country, so it’s only natural for me to get first place. And though I was in first place, even I didn’t get a perfect score.”

“No, no, getting a perfect score is way too difficult to begin with.”

While Lucinda was feeling sorry for the Crown Prince of the country and wondering why he was not satisfied with getting first place in the exam, Aaron’s muttering could be overheard.

“But if it had been him and not me, he would have gotten a perfect score. I’m only second best, after all. It’s presumptuous of me to be the future king.”

“Your Highness, who……?”

“I’m sorry, forget what I just said.”

Barely noticeable by the light of the lantern, Aaron smiled faintly. It was a sad smile, as if he had given up on something.

Lucinda’s heart tightened for some reason, and she got the urge to speak up. It just didn’t feel right to stay silent.

“……I don’t really understand it myself, but even if His Highness Aaron is in second place, isn’t the person in second place still worthy of being the king?”

“Lucinda, what do you……?”

“Please don’t demean yourself like that. It is true that the overwhelming power of being in first place may make it easier and more enjoyable to achieve your goals. But the person in second place also has his own way of fighting, and it’s usually more rewarding to achieve your goals that way.”

Lucinda clenched her fists and spoke passionately of her feelings about being in second place.

“And you’re not fighting alone, are you? You have people to support you, so you can rely on them. That’s what friends are for. Of course, I will also help you if you need me.”

Lucinda looked straight into Aaron’s eyes. Aaron returned her determined gaze quietly. The flame of the lantern reflecting in his eyes flickered and wavered.

“The person in second place has his own way of fighting, hmm….Thank you, I think I’ve calmed down a bit.”

He slowly lowered his eyes and replied in a softer tone.

Although it may seem that the content was a little too game-like, something seemed to have reached Aaron’s heart.

After walking a bit more, they arrived safely at the ruins.

The whole place was dirty, as if it had been abandoned for many years, and the walls were covered with ivy, making it the perfect place for a test of courage.

“The ruins are indeed eerie at night! Aren’t you afraid, Lucinda?”

“Oh, I’m fine.”

In her previous life, she had never been afraid of cemeteries or haunted houses in amusement parks at night.

So, although the abandoned ruins were not as pleasant as they could have been, the setting was not scary either. The sound of dripping water and the breeze coming from somewhere in the house did not scare her.

They continued down the corridor, and in no time at all, they reached the innermost room and got the number card.

It’s just an otome game event, nothing to be afraid of.

‘That was easy. Now let’s get the hell out of here.’

Just as they were leaving the ruins, a large moth flew by, attracted by the light of the lantern.

“Aah!”

Lucinda screamed and hugged Aaron, who was right next to her.

“Lucinda? Are you okay?”

Aaron asked with concern.

“I’m sorry……. I’m really not good with bugs…..”

“Bugs?”

“Yes, Are there any more bugs around? Are there any stuck on me?”

As Lucinda looked up fearfully and asked with tearful eyes, Aaron stiffened for a moment, coughed a little, and then gently patted Lucinda on the back.

“I drove the bugs away, and there aren’t any stuck to you, so you’re fine.”

“Thank you! I’m sorry for the trouble I caused. Also, I’m really sorry for hugging you so suddenly….”

After Lucinda loosened her clinging hands and apologized sincerely, Aaron shook his head and smiled.

“I always thought of you as a strong girl, but I see you also have your weaknesses.”

“Sorry, I think I need to get over my aversion to bugs before going on an adventure.”

“Don’t worry, you’ll get over it.”

Aaron chuckled and looked at her directly.

“By the way, would you mind calling me Aaron from now on?”

“What? Isn’t it disrespectful to call you by your name without honorifics?”

“It’s not disrespectful at all since I am giving you my permission. Besides, Lyle also calls me by my name, doesn’t he? It’s proof of our friendship.”

“Proof of your friendship…If that’s the case…”

She nodded her head at the sound of the phrase “proof of friendship”.

“Then you can call me Aaron from now on.”

“Okay…Aaron.”

Lucinda called out his name shyly and the corners of Aaron’s eyes creased happily.

◇◇◇

After everyone passed the test of courage it was time to go to bed, but the night was far from over for some girls.

Lucinda and her roommates Mia, Kathy, and Marin were so excited about their first night out with their friends that they couldn’t fall asleep even though their bodies were tired.

So after they all got into their beds, they started talking about their love stories—a standard part of a girls’ sleepover.

“Lyle is so cool and nice! Lucinda and Mia are lucky to be in the same group as him.”

“Do you like Lyle, Kathy?”

“Well, if I’m being honest, then more than him, I really like his face. Ah! Speaking of handsome men, His Highness Aaron’s face is beautiful in a different way, but I’m also attracted to him.”

“Ahh, so Kathy likes handsome men.”

“What about you, Marin?”

“I admire Mr. Ray. He’s mature and attractive. He has that adult charm.”

“I see! So you like older men.”

“Mia, is there anyone you like?”

“I don’t know. Everyone is different and each person has their own good points, so I can’t choose just one.”

“Hmmm….What about you, Lucinda?”

Mia, Kathy, and Marin’s curious gazes all landed on Lucinda at the same time.

“Umm, I don’t think I like anyone in particular.”

“Oh, really? Then, your favorite type?”

Lucinda blinked at the question about her preferred type.

‘Come to think of it, what is my favorite type? I never fell in love in my previous life, and I’ve never had a favorite celebrity, either.’

“Well, if I had to say……”

“If you had to say???”

“I’d have to say a warrior type with a lot of firepower.”

Kathy and Marin were like, “What? You mean you like strong people?” 

While Kathy and Marin were puzzled, Mia sighed and thought, ‘She’s such a game nerd…..’ as she held her head.

Note:

Read more on Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/Nozomitl

If you enjoy my translation, you can support me through Support Nozomi

TL:Nozomi

ED:Ali

© http://www.betterdaystranslations.com, Inc. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started