17. Under the Starry Sky with Lyle

17. Under the Starry Sky with Lyle

On the last night of forest school, a campfire was lit outside.

The student all exclaimed, “Wow! When Ray used his fire magic to light the fire.

From now until bedtime, students were free to do as they pleased. Some were sharing ghost stories in a circle, others were roasting meat on skewers, and still, some were sitting alone on the wooden logs, quietly watching the flames.

When Lucinda asked Mia if she wanted to do something with her, Mia agreed with a strange grin on her face.

“Mmmm. But I need to run some errands first, so can you sit on that bench over there and wait for me?”

“What, in a completely empty place like that?”

“Because it’s a special seat, wait for me while looking at the stars.”

Mia’s face was very suspicious, but if she had something to do, Lucinda had no choice but to wait.

So she did what Mia told her to do and sat down on a bench to wait.

Sitting alone on a bench with a comfortable backrest, she looked up at the night sky and saw countless stars shining like jewels.

“Waaah, so pretty.”

Maybe because she was sitting at a distance from the campfire, even the smallest stars were clearly visible. As Mia said, it may indeed be a special seat.

Lucinda was so moved by the breathtaking beauty that it almost sucked her in when she heard footsteps approaching.

“Mia?”

She turned her head to see if it was Mia who had finished her business, but it turned out that it was not Mia but Lyle.

“…… Is your injury okay?”

Apparently, he was concerned about her injury, so he called out to her.

At her response that she was fine, Lyle muttered a relieved “Thank God” and sat down next to Lucinda.

“I can’t believe that Samuel is behaving like that towards you, the woman who helped him. I’m disappointed in him.”

“Oh well, I don’t know. Maybe he’s just embarrassed. I don’t mind anyway.”

“But you’ve got injured.”

“It’s not a big deal; it’s just a scratch. If I want to travel in the future, I need to build up my arm strength. Samuel is quite slender, but all I could do was grab onto him with both hands. If you didn’t reach on time, It could have been dangerous.”

“Just being able to hold one man up for a while is enough. It’s not that I don’t know about dreams, but I hope you could be more careful in order to not get injured; I’m worried.”

Lyle gently touched Lucinda’s bandaged arm.

“Thank you for your concern. I wish I could use healing magic…..”

“You do realize that to use healing, you need to own a powerful water magic.”

Yes, healing magic cannot be used by anyone; it can only be used by magicians who are skilled in the water attribute. In addition, it is not powerful enough to completely heal serious injuries.

‘If I’m going to fight demons in the future, the only way to avoid getting hurt is to increase my defense with protective magic gear like armor and attire. Also, I’ve heard that the light magic that Mia is supposed to be awakening to has a cheat-level healing effect, so I’m hoping that Mia can somehow learn it and accompany me on my journey.’

As Lucinda was pondering her future travel plans, Lyle called out to her, “Hey.”

“I’m aiming to join the Royal Order of Knights, but why don’t you aim for the Royal Order of Magicians? They do go on expeditions, so you can travel as you like, and since you’ll be working with the Knights a lot, there might be things I can do to protect you.”

“What, there’s such a thing as a Royal Magician Order?”

‘I knew that there were royal palace magicians, but I didn’t know that there was such a thing as a magician division. Furthermore, I never thought I would be able to travel as a job.’

Lucinda thought it would be fun to belong to the magic division. However, she had only thought of it as an adventurer’s life due to the influence of the games.

“Thank you for telling me. I’ll think about it.”

“Yeah, do that.”

Lyle replied, looking up at the night sky.

“Come to think of it, the stars look really clear here.”

“Yes, they do! They are so beautiful, I could look at them forever.”

Lyle stared at Lucinda in silence as she smiled at him.

“Hmmm, What’s wrong?”

“Nothing, I just thought it was beautiful.”

Lyle’s eyes, which reflected Lucinda’s, were filled with a feverish desire for something. Just as he was about to reach out to Lucinda, she gave a small cry, “Oh!”

“I just saw a shooting star!”

“…… shooting star?”

“Yes, I’m sure we’ll see it again. I have to make a wish. ……!”

Lyle let out a disappointed sigh.

“What do you wish for in a shooting star?”

“Of course, to become a great magician.”

“I see. I hope you make it.”

After that, the two of them were absorbed in watching the shooting star, and the time passed quickly. Their free time came to an end without Mia showing up.

◇◇◇

At bedtime that day

Cathy and Marin were so tired from the two days that they didn’t have time to chat and fell asleep quickly.

Lucinda laid down in bed and whispered to Mia in the next bed.

“Mia, you didn’t show up earlier. You lied to me when you said you were going to do your errands first.”

Mia rolled over and looked at Lucinda.

“Oh, you found out :)? It was an original event, a starry night date.”

“I knew it.”

“Lyle seemed to have gone over there; what did you guys talk about?”

Mia was curious and eager to find out.

“It’s nothing like what you’d expect, Mia. He asked me if I wanted to join the Royal Order of Magicians. He said that he might be able to protect me if something were to happen.”

“Oh my!~~ Lyle aspires to be a knight of the royal order, doesn’t he?~~~ He’s a strategist after all!~~~.”

For some reason, Mia suddenly became upbeat and started stretching her end of the sentence in a strange way.

Lucinda gave her a stern look and continued talking.

“I had no idea there was such a division.”

“You’re not very flirty, are you? … and oh, I might have heard of the Royal Magicians in a game once. Are you curious?”

“Yes, I thought it might be a good idea to gain some experience there for a while.”

“Well, if a noblewoman were to suddenly become an adventurer and go on a journey, she would definitely be opposed to it, but if she were to join the Royal Order of Magicians, she would have to face less opposition. I guess it isn’t a bad idea to have a plan B.”

“That’s true. I think I’ll do some research. It’s actually quite exciting. It’s kind of like choosing the school you want to go to. In my previous life, I died in the third grade of junior high school, and I’ve never taken a high school entrance exam. What should I do? I wonder?”

Lucinda groaned, and Mia gave her some unusually serious advice.

“If you want advice on how to proceed, how about talking to your brother first?”

“I see, you’re right. Talking to my parents first is a bit awkward. It’s almost summer vacation; maybe I’ll ask him for advice then.”

“That’s a good idea. Anyways, I’m getting sleepy too, so I’m going to bed now.”

“Yeah, I’m going to bed too. Good night.”

“Good night~.”

And so, before long, both of them fell asleep, and the last night of the school trip passed quietly.

Note:

So it seems that translating isn’t my thing so…. but I had this ready… might not give up just yet :))

If you enjoy my translation, you can support me through Support Nozomi

TL:Nozomi

ED:Ali

© http://www.betterdaystranslations.com, Inc. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “17. Under the Starry Sky with Lyle

Leave a Reply

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started