9.Lunaria’s wish

I and Mikhail finished picking medicinal herbs as the sun was beginning to set. Both of us were so absorbed in the task that we completely lost track of time. However, we were able to collect a good amount of herbs.

Both of us returned using the same route we had taken during the day, and by the time we got home, night had already taken over the sky.

“Thank you, Mikhail, for taking me with you today!”

“Thank you, too, for helping me today. As a thank you, here’s one for you.”

Mikhail took out a white flower from his robe and offered it to me.

“Isn’t this a moonflower? Did you find it at the pond earlier?”

The moonflower was a rare flower with pretty white petals that is rumored to carry the magical power of the moon and make people’s wishes come true.

“I hope that your wish will come true. And I thought the moonflower would suit you well.”

“……..!”

At the unexpected words from Mikhail, I felt my heart beat harder in my chest. My face grew hot and I wanted to say something, but I just couldn’t find the right words to tell.

Although I have received countless gorgeous bouquets of flowers in the past, I asked myself, ‘Why is this single moonflower making my heart tremble so much? Why does it seem so special to me?’

“Thank you, I’ll decorate my room with it.”

Although I finally managed to squeeze the words out, they were low and muffled, like a child’s reply.

As the two of us stared at each other, the silvery moon quietly shone upon us.

◇◇◇◇◇

Under the moonlight, while gazing at the beautiful moonflowers on the window sill, I sighed.

‘The truth is, I am aware of it. My feelings for Mr. Mikhail is real. But I can’t express it.’

Lunaria was talking about the feelings that started to grow within her heart, the feelings that grew for Mikhail…

This is probably the first time that I have fallen in love with someone of the opposite gender, and I knew that these feelings for him would just continue to keep growing.

However, I couldn’t let him know about my feelings. I would just have to seal my love for him deep down my heart and forward with life. Because I am a person who is bound to leave this world, and I knew that she couldn’t live with him forever. 

‘It’s okay. It’s a common practice for aristocrats to suppress their feelings and pretend to be calm, isn’t it?’

I did not want to express these feelings of mine to Mikhail. I must do my best to not make my feelings for him come true. I knew this already, but why does it make my heart ache so much?

As I stroked the shining white moon flower quietly, a thought appeared in my mind…

‘What is my wish? To return to the original world? Or…’

If you enjoy my translation, you can support me through Support Nozomi

Tl:Nozomi

Ed:Mr.EclipseTranslator

© http://www.betterdaystranslations.com, Inc. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started