8. Admission to the Magic Academy

Otome Games – Chapter 8: Admission to the Magic Academy

Five years have passed since then.

Now fifteen years old, Lucinda was dressed in a white school uniform and sitting on a chair in a large auditorium with sunlight streaming through its beautiful stained glass skylight.

Today was the entrance ceremony of the Royal Academy of Magic in this world.

All royal and aristocratic children with magical powers were required to study at this academy for three years. This year, Lucinda would be attending as a freshman.

‘Even though I’ve heard about the academy from my brother, I’m still nervous.’

Chris, who had been attending the academy since last year, already told her about the atmosphere of the school and the content of the classes. Still, now that she was actually going to start her school life, she felt anxious.

‘I don’t have any childhood friends that I’ve always been close to……I wonder if I’ll be able to make friends.’

While Lucinda pondered over human relationships, a common concern when entering a new school, a cheerful and beautiful voice rang out from the stage at the front.

“I’m delighted to become a member of the prestigious Royal Academy of Magic on this beautiful day.”

It seemed to be an introductory speech from the new student representative, but Lucinda immediately recognized the figure standing on the stage.

‘It’s Crown Prince Aaron! ……! Come to think of it, didn’t my mother mention that we were the same age?’

Lucinda had already thanked him politely for introducing her to Mrs. Flora in a letter. However, she had yet to thank him in person. Maybe now she would have the chance.

With these thoughts running through her mind, Lucinda watched Aaron as he made his speech, and for a moment, she felt as though their eyes met.

After the entrance ceremony, the students began to move to their assigned classrooms for orientation.

Lucinda’s first class was the Special Magic Class, a class for students with extraordinary magical talents.

Incidentally, her homeroom teacher was Ray. Since their first meeting five years ago, Ray studied hard to become a magic teacher. Finally, two years ago, he became a teacher at the prestigious Royal Academy of Magic. Because of his excellent magic ability, he was given his first homeroom class this year despite his young age.

‘Since he’s going to be my homeroom teacher now, I guess I should call him Mr. Ray or Mr. Trevor, right?’

As Lucinda walked into the classroom contemplating how to address her former classmate, a voice she had just been listening to from the stage spoke to her.

“It’s been five years, Lady Lucinda.”

“…..! Your Highness Aaron! You remember me?”

“Of course, how could I forget?”

“Oh, actually, this is great! I’ve been meaning to thank you in person for introducing me to Mrs. Flora. I’ve been training to become a magician under her ever since.”

“Ah, I heard about you from the teacher from time to time. I’ve also heard that you are a very talented student. So it was worth it for me to introduce you to her. I hope you will continue to do well.”

Aaron showed a refreshing smile.

As Lucinda was thinking, ‘Ah, what a good person…..,’ a male student with bright red hair approached her.

“Lucinda…? No way…..the one from before? You were a noble?! I searched around for you in town a few times since then and was disappointed that I couldn’t find you.”

The speaker was a beautiful man with a dignified face, a bit different from the soft and gentle Crown Prince Aaron.

For a moment, Lucinda wondered if she had ever known someone like him, but then she remembered his fiery red hair.

“Oh! Could it be….are you the aspiring knight? The one I met on the street when we were kids? So you were a noble, too!”

“Yeah, I’m Lyle McClain. You really helped me out back then. Thanks.”

“Oh, no, I didn’t do much.”

“My parents have now accepted my dream, and I’m working towards becoming a magic knight. Thanks to your suggestion.”

“That’s wonderful!”

As Lucinda’s face broke into a smile at the happy news after five years, Aaron joined the conversation with a surprised look on his face.

“What? The suggestion to start training magic knights was originally Lucinda’s idea……?”

“Yeah, it was her who told me to combine swordsmanship and magic.”

“I can’t believe she was the one who came up with the idea of magic knights! They’re now an essential part of the formation of the royal guard…….I always assumed it was the Prime Minister’s idea.”

“I told my father, who agreed with me, and then he proposed it to his Majesty.”

“Is that so?”

‘What? When did this become such a big deal?’

In the past, Lucinda only said that because she hoped Lyle wouldn’t have to give up on his dream. But now they were talking about it as something much bigger, like a proposal to His Majesty or being an essential part of the royal guard.

‘And Lyle’s house is the Marquisate of McClain, as in, the famous Prime Minister McClain?’

While Lucinda was confused because she couldn’t keep up with all of the new information being  thrown her way, she heard a girl’s lovely voice from behind her.

“Everyone, please stop! Lucinda is my friend!”

As she turned toward the source of the cute voice, Lucinda’s eyes came to rest on a beautiful girl with pale pink hair and large light blue eyes standing there.

‘What? What do you mean? I’m pretty sure we’ve never met before…….’

Lucinda was dumbfounded and didn’t know how to react, but Aaron and Lyle kindly sent her on her way, saying that since the girl was her friend she should go and have fun talking to her.

“Um…….what’s your name? And what’s with the whole ‘friend’ thing?”

Lucinda looked at the beautiful, mysterious girl who claimed that she was her friend even though they had never met before. When Lucinda innocently asked, the girl answered with a puzzled expression.

“Oh, I’m Mia Brooks. I thought they were trying to bully you.”

Mia Brooks. The name definitely did not sound familiar.

And for some reason, there seemed to be a terrible misunderstanding.

Lucinda shook her head, determined to clear up the misunderstanding for the sake of Aaron and Lyle.

“No, they’re both very nice people, and we were just exchanging greetings since we haven’t seen each other in five years.”

Then the girl who called herself Mia looked surprised and started mumbling something.

“Very nice people? What do you mean? She’s supposed to be a villainess……..The character’s behavior is strange. It seems like the atmosphere is completely different from the original. Could it be a bug?”

Lucinda couldn’t believe her ears when she heard familiar terms from her previous life coming out of Mia’s mouth.

‘Character? Original? A bug? Perhaps……’

“Are you a reincarnator, too?”

After Lucinda asked, Mia nodded with a bright smile on her face.

“Ohh! So you’re a reincarnator, too! No wonder I thought something was different. I was lucky enough to be reincarnated as the heroine, but it seems you had the bad luck to be reincarnated as the villainous daughter.”

“……What? A villainess? I’m sorry, I don’t understand what you’re saying.”

It seems that Mia was also a reincarnated person, but Lucinda really couldn’t understand what she was hearing.

When Lucinda asked again in confusion, the pink-haired girl tilted her head and explained,

“So, this is the world of an Otome game called ‘Koi to Maho no Gakuen Paradise,’ or ‘Koi Para’. I’m the heroine, Mia, and you’re the villainess, Lucinda Lancaster, right?”

Note:

We Finally made it to the heroine!!!

Read more on https://www.patreon.com/Nozomitl

If you enjoy my translation, you can support me through Support Nozomi

TL:Nozomi

ED:Ali

© http://www.betterdaystranslations.com, Inc. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “8. Admission to the Magic Academy

  1. Is this the mythical reincarnated heroine that isn’t evil or stupid beyond human imagination while digging herself into a bad end?

    Like

    1. Hmm… Maybe in the original all characters were troublemakers?
      The apathetic prince, the rowdy wannabe knight, the hateful villain, the gloomy older brother and the elitist teacher?
      And now this girl that seems to be out of place…
      I half expect her to be the jealousy role…

      Like

Leave a Reply

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started